Worship Bass
September 19, 2017, 04:48:04 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to Worship Bass

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Leading from the bass  (Read 4934 times)
cupples

« on: November 30, 2009, 12:07:19 PM »

Hi folks, I'm new here. I've been playing bass on and off for ten years, and in our church worship group for the last two. I've been given the chance to lead worship from time to time (I've done a lot of singing over the years, and I feel God is calling me to do more of this), and I'm trying to combine bass and leading - it's really hard! There's no-one else who plays at the moment (although I've got my eyes open for someone to train up!).

Does anyone else out there lead from the bass? How do you manage it? How do you prepare? I find myself playing during the intro, then dropping out for the verse and chorus. At least it gives me something to do with my hands! Standing there with just a mic is a bit awkward... when I'm playing bass only, I usually play by ear, but I find I can't do this when leading, unless I'm playing exactly the same thing as I'm singing. Is it a practice issue? Maybe it's just a lack of multi-tasking ability due to being male!

Any thoughts?

Andrew

"As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord" Joshua 24:15

Mania 4 string fretless, Dean Pace EUB, Ashdown Superfly amp and Laney 2x10 cab
CRBMoA

« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2009, 02:40:47 PM »

Singing and playing is a practice issue.

Leading from the bass, however, is a different animal.

There are a lot of cues you can give to the team from guitar and piano, but you have far fewer options as the bassist, because bass=foundation.