Worship Bass
November 19, 2017, 06:52:22 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to Worship Bass

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question About Electronic Drum Set  (Read 2534 times)
2bhumble (Dave)
Jamming For Jesus
Global Moderator

Saved by Grace

« on: January 27, 2010, 08:26:17 PM »

I have had my Crate BT100 Amp up for sale. Had a guy look at it tonight wanting to use it with a Roland electronic drum set.

This guy is a newbie to the drums and has very little knowledge of any type of music gear.

Does anyone have any experience with electronic drums run through bass amps and can answer such questions as,

Will the drums sound good? Would the drums be considered passive or active? Would the drums work through the effects loop?

I have no experience with this and I don't want to sell this guy something he will not be satisfied with.
Thats for your input.

Dave 

No Jesus--No Peace
Know Jesus--Know Peace

Satan doesn't really care if you are a Christian,
as long as you don't act like one.
Eddy

« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2010, 07:59:51 AM »

My experience has been that full range instruments (drums, keys etc) do NOT sound good through a bass amp. Most bass amps are tuned such that full range instruments sound 'muffled' without extreme EQ, and sometimes even with extreme EQ.

A keyboard amp, or powered PA enclosure would be a MUCH better solution IMHO.

However, you could try it. If sounds good then there's no argument against success.

Nashville, like L.A. without a tan!
chuckzee90

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2010, 08:24:08 AM »

You can make it WORK... I mean, if he just wants to practice with it, then shoot, who cares.  If it makes noise, you're good to go.  But... as far as using it for a service I agree with dave. 

ever run an electric/acoustic through a bass amp?  haha I got a 50's junk surf electric guitar sound out of it.
CRBMoA